DJ Premier Gave Fat Joe “I’m Gone” Beat Day Guru Died

JLBarrow • June 15, 2010 • No Comments

“If you don’t like real hip-hop get the fuck out!” was all you had to hear from Fat Joe during a listening session for his 10th studio album The Dark Side at NY’s Skyline Studios. From the first note of the Scram Jones produced intro you know there will be no jumping in pools with furs on in these videos. “Everybody gets killed in the dark side, there is no happiness here!”

The beats definitely back up his claim. The soundbed is more like a casket with dark, head-busting selections from Just Blaze, Cool & Dre and DJ Premier.

“We had to go classic on this one right here,” Joe said of the outtro called “I’m Gone. “ It’s from my brother Preemo. He sent it to me the day Guru passed, so its’ a little different from the normal Preemo song. But it’s so incredible.”

On the track Joe spits: “I’m gangster/ F— that, I’m Gang Starr…Tell Nas hip-hop’s dead now/ My man’s gone.”

UPDATE: Here is the track:

Fat Joe – I’m Gone (prod. DJ Premier) | Mediafire

Props to DJPremierBlog and

Fat Joe and Premier’s most popular collab is the remix to “Shit Is Real.” The Dark Side will be available on July 27th on E1 Records.

Complete track listing for The Dark Side is below:

1. Intro Produced By Scram Jones

2. Valley of Death Produced by Cool & Dre

3. I Am Crack Producd by Just Blaze

4. Kilo produced by Infamous

5. Rappers Are In Danger Produced by Infamous

6. Slow Down (Ha Ha) Produced by Scoop Deville

7. If It Ain’t About Money Produced By Cool & Dre

8. No Problems Produced by Scoop Deville

9. How Did We Get Here Produced by Raw Uncut

10. Money Over Bitches Produce by Raw uncut

11. Heavenly Father Produced by Street Runner

12. I’m Gone Produced by DJ Premier

Share This Post
Categories News
You May Also Like

No Comments